Cherokee County DMV

Cherokee County DMV
260 Cedar Bluff Road, Suite 100
Centre, AL 35960 

Phone: (256)927-3654
Fax: (256)927-6747



















_________________________________________________________________________

 

Tags

The Cherokee County Department of Motor Vehicles offers services that include tags & titles. Some of our services can be done by person, by internet, or by mail. For questions concerning any of the following, please contact our office.

 

REGISTERING A NEWLY ACQUIRED VEHICLE

When purchasing a tag for a newly acquired vehicle, you must come into our office and register the vehicle within 20 days from the date of purchase. If purchased from and individual or an out of state dealer, sales tax will be due on the purchase price of the vehicle.

VEHICLES PURCHASED FROM AN ALABAMA DEALER

·      Title Application

·      Bill of Sale (with sales tax breakdown)

·      Alabama Driver’s License or Alabama Non-Driver ID

·      Mandatory Liability Insurance

VEHICLES PURCHASED FROM AN INDIVIDUAL (Alabama Title)

·      Title or Alabama Title Application

·      Bill of Sale(sales tax due at time of registration)

·      Mandatory Liability Insurance

·      Alabama Driver’s License or Alabama Non-Driver ID


VEHICLES PURCHASED WITH AN OUT OF STATE TITLE (Dealer or Individual)

·      Title or Alabama Title Application

·      Bill of Sale(with sales tax breakdown or sales tax will be collected at time of registration)

·      Alabama Driver’s License or Alabama Non-Driver ID

·      Mandatory Liability Insurance

·      Must Bring Vehicle for Inspection, State Inspection Form or Picture of VIN# off dash


REGISTERING VEHICLES WHEN MOVING FROM ANOTHER STATE (without Lien)

·      Title

·      Alabama Driver’s License or Alabama Non-Driver ID

·      Mandatory Liability Insurance

·      Must Bring Vehicle for Inspection, State Inspection Form or Picture of VIN# off dash

·      All Owners Listed on Title Must be Present


REGISTERING VEHICLES WHEN MOVING FROM ANOTHER STATE (With Lien)

·      Copy of Title or E-Ttile

·      Loan Account Number From Lien holder

·      Alabama Driver’s License or Alabama Non-Driver ID

·      Mandatory Liability Insurance

·      Must Bring Vehicle for Inspection, State Inspection Form or Picture of VIN# off dash

·      All Owners Listed on Title Must be Present

 

Renewal Chart

It is your responsibility to renew your tag before the expiration date. Any changes to a renewal must come into the tag office. There is no grace period; your tag must be renewed by the end of your renewal month to avoid penalty and interest. There are several types of tags that require documentation each year that we must have before we can renew the tag, such as National Guard, Active Reserve, Firefighter, Rescue Squad, Fraternal Order of Police, Realtors, etc.

Renewal Month

First Letter of Last Name

January

A and D

February

B

March

C and E

April

F, G and N

May

H and O

June

M and I

July

P and L

August

J, K and R

September

Q, S and T

October

U, V, W, X, Y and Z

October/November

National Guard and Heavy Trucks

October/November

Commercial and Fleet Vehicles

 

Penalty Schedule
(a) Failure to renew your tag in your renewal month results in $15.00 plus interest penalty.
(b) Failure to transfer a purchased vehicle within 20 calendar days results in a $15.00 penalty.
(c) Failure to register a vehicle within 30 days of an individual moving into the State with a valid out-of state license results in a $15.00 penalty.

Ad Valorem Tax Voucher
(Beginning date: August 2000)
1. In order to receive a voucher, one of the following criteria must be met: selling of a vehicle, trading of a vehicle, total destruction of a vehicle, theft without recovery or other transfer.

Documents to support the above criteria:
(a) Casual sale or trade…affidavit of buyer and address
(b) Sale or trade to license dealer…dealer’s bill of sale
(c) Theft of vehicle…report from law authority
(d) Lease trade-in…odometer statement
(e) Statement from insurance of company stating date of total loss

2. The voucher can only be issued to the registered owner and proof of identification must be provided
3. The credit can be applied to pay the ad valorem tax on another vehicle.
4. Alabama law sets the eligibility time period to receive a credit voucher 1 year from sale or other transfer date.
5. The voucher may only be redeemed in the county where it is issued.
6. The voucher can only be transferred by the owner to their spouse or dependent child.


Truck Weights and Fees

Truck Tag Fees

Weight

Tag Type

Fees

0-8000

PC

$23.00

8001-10000

P1

$35.00

10001-12000

XA

$105.00

12001-18000

X1

$170.00

18001-26000

X2

$235.00

26001-33000

X3

$300.00

33001-42000

X4

$520.00

42001-55000

X5

$585.00

55001-64000

X6

$650.00

64001-73280

X7

$715.00

73281-80000

X8

$815.00

80001 & OVER

X9

$890.00


Motor Home Weights & Fees

Motor Home Fees

Weight

Tag Type

Fees

0-8000

R1

$23.00

8,001-12,000

R2

$50.00

12,001-18,000

R3

$100.00

18,001-26,000

R4

$175.00

26,001-33,000

R5

$275.00

33,001-42,000

R6

$500.00

 

revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle/